new water testr results after pwc

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

abrahamavelar

Aquarium Advice Addict
well i just did another 50 percent and this are the results

ph 7.6
ammonia 0
nitrites 0
nitrates still 40

i did 50% water change revoved about 15 lbs of sand and added a good ammount of hornwort what can i do

Ive been doin pwc since last week and they only stay the same but I am gonna do another pwc 2morrow also after each pwc I wait about an hour to test the water is that good or should I wait longer

abrahamavelar said:
Ive been doin pwc since last week and they only stay the same but I am gonna do another pwc 2morrow also after each pwc I wait about an hour to test the water is that good or should I wait longer

I'm no expert but an hour should be fine I'd think. Do you have fish or are you fishless cycling?

Have you tested your tap water for nitrates?

Are you using the API kit? If so, bang the test bottles on a table and shake them vigorously for at least 30 seconds and the test tube for a full minute. There is a reagent powder in test tube 2 that can clump and cause false results.

What's your stock? Overstocking could cause the nitrates to climb fast and be hard to control. Other than that, or the test being false, or nitrates in the water (which you said there aren't) I'm not sure....

librarygirl said:
What's your stock? Overstocking could cause the nitrates to climb fast and be hard to control. Other than that, or the test being false, or nitrates in the water (which you said there aren't) I'm not sure....

That's what I was thinking you beat me to it.

Its a 75 gal
1 pleco
1pictus carfish
1 rainbow shark
4 black skirt tetra about an inch long
8 tiger barbs also about an inch long
2 juv 3 spot gourami and
6 platys