Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-09-2011, 07:51 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,142
PWC and Prime

Hi. Just wondering when everyone doses with prime during a PWC. I've been treating each bucket before I put it in the tank. Does anyone treat the water after they put it in the tank? If it's safe then I can just run a hose straight from the kitchen tap to the tank and it would save my back!

Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 07:55 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 43
you can do that but i believe you have to add more prime. For example if you have a 20 gallon aquarium and are only changing 5 gallons, you still have to add enough prime to handle 20 gallons.
__________________
ben27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 07:56 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
tarpon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 2,314
I do it before but people with water changes put the prime in the tank first then fill the tank up like that. Just make sure the temp matches.
__________________
tarpon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 09:05 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
fouldsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 158
Typically, turn off your filter and add the dosage for the full volume of water straight in to the tank. As ben27 said, there shouldn't be a need to do each bucket one by one, just make sure you dose in to the tank based on the full volume of water, not just what you're changing. Give it 5-10 minutes after finishing adding in your new water before turning the filter back on to make sure the Prime is well dispersed so as not to then run through the filter and potentially harm the beneficial bacteria
__________________
55g FW South American community tank
20g SW FOWLR tank
2.6g Fluval Spec III SW reef
fouldsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 09:09 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 670
I pour water in the bucket dose 3x the recommended and let it sit for 10-15 min. before adding it to the tank.
__________________
alex07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 09:11 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 670
Quote:
Originally Posted by fouldsy
Typically, turn off your filter and add the dosage for the full volume of water straight in to the tank. As ben27 said, there shouldn't be a need to do each bucket one by one, just make sure you dose in to the tank based on the full volume of water, not just what you're changing. Give it 5-10 minutes after finishing adding in your new water before turning the filter back on to make sure the Prime is well dispersed so as not to then run through the filter and potentially harm the beneficial bacteria
How would prime harm the bacteria?
__________________
alex07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 09:18 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
tarpon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 2,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex07

How would prime harm the bacteria?
He means so chlorinated tap water doesn't run through it and kill the bacteria
__________________
tarpon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 09:20 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 670
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarpon

He means so chlorinated tap water doesn't run through it and kill the bacteria
Ok, why not let the water sit out for 5 minutes so that you don't have to turn off the filter?
__________________
alex07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 09:26 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex07 View Post
Ok, why not let the water sit out for 5 minutes so that you don't have to turn off the filter?
so that if it takes 5 buckets of water you aren't sitting around waiting for 25 minutes
__________________
jeffp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 09:26 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
tarpon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 2,314
The OP wants to just run a hose from the faucet to the tank so he/she doesn't have to carry buckets back in forth
__________________
tarpon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 09:28 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 670
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarpon
The OP wants to just run a hose from the faucet to the tank so he/she doesn't have to carry buckets back in forth
You can do that. Just make sure the hose is long enough.
__________________
alex07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 09:31 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hippy guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Lexvegas Kentucky
Posts: 1,250
Question! If fish are left in tank, when you put faucet water into tank, will it hurt the fish? How do you "prime" it without needing to take everyone out?
__________________
Bada Bing, Bada Betta
hippy guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 09:32 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hippy guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Lexvegas Kentucky
Posts: 1,250
Just re red this... would adding the prime at once hurt anyone in there?
__________________
Bada Bing, Bada Betta
hippy guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 09:36 PM   #14
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,046
I fill my tanks directly from the tap all the time.

This is my process. I do the gravel vac/water removal on all the tanks. Then I go around and dose water conditioner in each tank. Then I go back and fill them all.
__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 09:56 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hippy guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Lexvegas Kentucky
Posts: 1,250
Ok, thanks jeta, ill prolly do that from now on.
__________________
Bada Bing, Bada Betta
hippy guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 10:02 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,142
Thanks everyone!!! That's going to make my life much easier! I didn't want to hurt the fish or BB.
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 10:28 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
that process is torturing the fish by adding poison (chlorine) directly to the tank.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 10:43 PM   #18
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,046
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
that process is torturing the fish by adding poison (chlorine) directly to the tank.

What process? Adding from the tap to the tank?
__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 10:46 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
yep. and heavy metals. plus, there is the temperature factor, and the ph factor to think about.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 10:58 PM   #20
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,046
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
yep. and heavy metals. plus, there is the temperature factor, and the ph factor to think about.
Okay. I respectfully disagree, and here's why.


Water conditioner is intended to work instantly, both in dechlorination and detoxifying heavy metals.

Matching temperature isn't too critical as long as it's close. I even lower the temperature on purpose when refilling certain tanks to trigger breeding. (corydoras). Luckily our tap runs in the mid 70s here this time of year so it's not something I have to deal with, however in the winter time I connect to an inside tap that way I can adjust the temperature as needed.

As far as the pH thing goes, most of my tanks run at a similar pH to that in the tap, and the ones that don't have never had any issues, although I don't keep any extreme pH tanks.

A lot of people use pythons, aqueons, and lee's water changers to directly refill from the tap, so if poisoning were a viable issue I think there'd be more accounts of it happening.

Not trying to be argumentative but if this is a tangible concern it should definitely be verified and documented so that more people (including myself) take care in their refilling practices.

Thanks.
__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
prime, pwc, rim

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.