Rescued a male betta need advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jpegan

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey everyone,

A friend of mine asked me to rescue her Betta from her recently. It was in an extremely small area probably less than a gallon for months without a filter or temperature control. It stuffed itself in a really tight space and its spine looks almost permanently curved :(. Luckily he is still with us and I have moved him to a 35 gallon tank with proper temperature and filtering. So far he has been much more active and I have even seen him eating which was great.

I am new to the aquarium hobby and want to add some non fish animals like sea stars or snails, and maybe eventually a few tetras or some other small peaceful fish. I am open to any and all advice to help improve the quality of life for this betta, as well as any advice on proper tank mates. Let me know if you need more info or some pictures !

Thanks for your help
-Jack

35 gallon is a huge amount of water for a betta. So there is definitely scope to add some other fish and invertebrates in there. I would always advise caution when mixing other fish with bettas as bettas dont always take well to having company, but in such a large tank with plenty of territory that risk should be very minimal.

I would read up somewhat on the nitrogen cycle and how to cycle a tank. With only 1 fish in such a large water volume cycling largely irrelevant, but if you plan to add more fish then your cycle will need to catch up.

Invertebrates. Snails should be very safe additions. Nerite snails are great tank cleaners. Mystery snails are a little more attractive and interesting. Im not sure what you mean by sea stars. Starfish? The things you find in the sea? These are marine inverts and will die in freshwater.