Sailfin? Maybe a Rhino? Pleco ID help!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

skywhitney

Aquarium Advice Addict
Any ideas? It kind of looks like a Rhino to me but i am by no means knowlegable about these guys at all. These are the best pics i could get. sorry for the fuzziness, my phone was all i had.

Last edited:
IMO, definitely not a rhino and the fin doesn't look high enough to be a sailfin. I am not an expert, but I think its a common pleco.

This one might be a little better...maybe...

Last edited:
absolutangel04 said:
IMO, definitely not a rhino and the fin doesn't look high enough to be a sailfin. I am not an expert, but I think its a common pleco.

Do all plecos have a version of the horn looking deal near their eyes?

Most of the bigger ones do. Both the common and sailfin have them. If you google pictures of the common pleco, you will see those little horns on them. You can try that and then see if you think the little horns are bigger on your guy. I have seen some rather large ones on commons before though.

absolutangel04 said:
Most of the bigger ones do. Both the common and sailfin have them. If you google pictures of the common pleco, you will see those little horns on them. You can try that and then see if you think the little horns are bigger on your guy. I have seen some rather large ones on commons before though.

Haha thats what i just did...hes young so its hard for me to tell. A number of the Rhino pics looked similar (to me) but so did the pics of the common...

I just want to figure out what type he is that way i know what to expect (size, diet, etc)

absolutangel04 said:
How big is he? The rhinos I am familiar with have a different color pattern. Honestly, I do not know if they all look like that or not, but the ones I have seen almost have stripes like this guy: cichlids.com: rhino pleco