What Made You Want A Freshwater Aquarium?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
I vaguely remember a 10 gal freshwater tank when I was a kid. (1960s, yeah, I am OLD LoL) My mom got it for my 2 brothers and me. I remember the calmness I felt watching the fish for hours, instead of TV. Fast forward to the '90s... I was a driver for a horse and buggy company in New Hope, PA and the only bathroom was in the owner's home. The one time I had to use it, their heater was broken and I saw on the counter top a beautiful blue Betta in a flippin large glass beer stein. I told my boss that the fish was going to die from the cold, only because I knew they were basically considered "tropical" and that they would fight. And that is all I knew. So, I took him home and named him "Master Betta Max". He moved into his new 10 gallon home and that was my first personal "fish". I had always seen and been secretly in love with Angelfish, and bought a second tank... a 30 gallon tall. I bought some silver and black Angelfish that were the size of an American quarter and they grew to be HUGE! I also had Mystik Sharks in that tank with them. I got a divorce, sold the house and moved to Tennessee. Max was almost 6 when my best friend's son Christopher said that he didn't think Max would make the move, so I gave him to Christopher. He was my pet sitter for years and adored Max as much as I did. I gave my Angels and their tanks to a friend who had like 15 tanks all over his house, so I knew that they were in good hands, also. 5 years ago I got a job as a live-in companion to a lady, now friend, in Alabama who had 2 HUGE 250 gallon saltwater tanks and I took care of them for her. What a job! I loved it. But, all good things must come to an end and I took a job in Chicago, but I got attacked by my boss' pit bull, was hospitalized and now can't work anymore and am on disabili