White slimy film in fish tank.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SqueakyBed

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello everyone,

I am new to this community but I have read a lot of useful and helpful Thread/Topics on these forums so I thought I would post a thread here to ask for help and I am hoping that you guys can help me out. I am basically a noob trying to learn Aquascaping and fish keeping so please bare with me.

So before I setup my tank I had a big piece of drift wood that I wanted to use in the new tank but it kept floating so I filled the tank up with water and dropped it in there for almost a week hoping that it would sink but it never did and at the end of the week the tank smelled so bad and the wood had some white fungi or something like that growing on it so I got rid of the wood, Cleaned the tank and bleached it then rinsed it and let it air out to erase any bleach residue. 2 days later I setup the tank(60 gallons). Substrate, Rock's, Plant's, heater, CFilter, etc and I am now waiting for it to cycle. I decided to do a fish-less cycle since it doesn't involve experimenting with fish. It has been 6 days now and I am starting to notice some white slimy film developing on suction cups in the water and on the drop checker. Some plants may also have that stuff growing on them too. I am not sure it might be too early to tell.

I have also been watching the water parameters (well most of them) to make sure nothing is out of the normal range except for Ammonia I have been keeping it at around 4ppm+- for the past 6 days.

My water parameters for the past 6 days.
Ammonia Nitrite Nitrate PH KH
2, 0, 0, 6.8, 35.8
4, 0, 0, 7, 35.8
3, 0, 0, 6.8, 35.8
2, 0, 0, 6.6, 35.8
5, 0, 0, 7.2, 35.8
5, 0, 0, 6.5+-, 35.8

Ph fluctuation is due to the CO2 level being injected into the tank which I could never get right.