Snails retracting into shells

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kwazi cat

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi I'm new to fish tank keeping and I really like the snails but I have been having problems with some of them. I got some giant ramhorns and nerite snails but they all started to retract into their shells. They would retract really far so you could see a lot of the inside of their shell and then would die. Now it is happening to my adult mystery snail that I've had for almost 4 months. I'm pretty attacted to it and would really like to know what is happening and if I could do some thing to fix this problem?

Hi, and welcome to the community!
:welcome:

Are familiar with the cycling a tank, also known as denitrification?

Check out the article in the link of my signature to get a really good foundation about keeping tanks.

Do you have any fish?

What size is your tank?

Do you use dechlorinator and if your towns water supply facility uses Chloramines? Not all declor brands treat chloramines, and some need a 2x the normal dose for them. Check the label.

My guess is that the water quality is causing it.

What are your parameters for (you need to get the water tested and get a liquid master kit) Ammonia, NitrIte, NitrAte, pH, alkalinity aka kH, GH.

Water temp?

Are these big Columbian Ramshorns or similar to the snail in my signature type RH snails?

Ok so the tank the mystery snail is in should be cycled. It has been up for a little longer than I've had the snail. It is a 10 gal tank with the mystery snail, 2 cory catfish, 2 guppies, and 3 wag tail platies who have just had a bunch of babies. The other snails lived in the 20 gal tank with 6 danio fish and a red tailed shark.