New 60 gallon Newbie here

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Igmu89

Aquarium Advice Newbie
:fish2:K so I got a 60 gallon tank for my birthday and I've only ever had brackish and fresh water tanks. I even had a pet store I managed with Freshies only.

I want a reef tank. I have a little extra money now, and a little extra time and I'm ready. Thing is I know NOTHING about them. Well okay I've been reading up on them and I'm overwhelmed to say the least. Holy S**T there is a lot to figure out.

It's about like surveying 100 people about their favorite car. :facepalm:

What I want.

1) Something fairly economical ( I don't want to drop $1000 in a night)

2) Something fun - I like a challenge, and am not against experimenting.

3) difficulty is not a big deal. I'm handy and pretty sharp, but speak S L O W L Y at first. I'm a landlocked mountain girl - I don't know what the h**l a bulkhead is. :confused:

What I was shown at my local retailer was a Deep Sand Sump Refugium. I love this idea. A boring ol filter is just that - and I love the little critters that can grow and thrive in it. I also am a bit of a hippie and love the fact that it's a "natural" way to filter the tank.

I found a refugium "kit" on Ebay. Seems legit, and economical.

I have a 60 Gallon tank, and bought a 20 gallon for the Refugium. Doesn't fit under the other one in the cabinet but I'll figure it out.

I found a "reef octopus" protein skimmer that had good reviews, and will probably purchase it.

I've got a Hydrometer on the list, thermometer, and a nitrate test kit, as well.

I know I need special lights, and am on my way to figuring out "which ones"

My questions are this: I can't find reference as to how to "Actually" hook the refugium up to the top tank. I find links on how to make one, but not how to build the actual hookups to the top.