Am I too overstocked?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jbirdlala

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
hey guys, I'm still a tank newb. and I needed some advice. I have a 15 gallon tank, and I have 4 guppies, 1 platty, 2 otos, and I just added 2 Julli cory. I have a 20 gallon filter. I think the tank might be a little overstocked..

- Do I have too many fish?
- Also, will my cory's get stressed by only being 2 of them, I know they like to school together.. (I couldn't find any pygmy corys, so I went with julli's. I had ghost shrimp, but they kept dying soon after they molted.) :confused:

Nooo the general mesurment is 1 inch of fish per gallon your fine maybe ge another Cory cat

Nooo the general mesurment is 1 inch of fish per gallon your fine maybe ge another Cory cat

Not to be rude, but 1 inch=1 gallon is so wrong it's horrid. Fish have different bioloads.

Also, I think you should bump the Cory's to 5 and get some schooling fish. Maybe 5 or 6 neon tetras?

Ohh I didn't know that that what the people at pet smart told me... Never should have listened

This is a column tank, right? The dimensions are a lot shorter than a standard rectangular tank so it does limit stocking somewhat. I'd say you're pushing it now given there isn't much horizontal room for the fish. I'd get a larger filter too.

This is a column tank, right? The dimensions are a lot shorter than a standard rectangular tank so it does limit stocking somewhat. I'd say you're pushing it now given there isn't much horizontal room for the fish. I'd get a larger filter too.