Another Newbie here.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

RDerrick

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all, I'm a 38 year old women who hasn't had fish for a long, long time. Thankfully my son won a goldfish from the Strawberry Festival (well, not for the poor fish) I brought Rango (son named him that) home in that small box thing that you can buy for way too much money and the next day bought a hardly better tank. Poor fish never really had a chance with the 1.77 gallon tank I got (with filter) because after 2 weeks the ammonia spiked too high and he didn't make it. It had been so long I forgot about the basics. I pulled out my old 30 gallon tank from many, many years ago and just started cycling it last night. Poor hubby didn't have a chance to even complain before it was set up. Now I can try to remember and research what I don't before I get fish for the tank.

We're all here to happily help you along :) and yes those links will help you a LOT. What kind of fish do you think you might want to have? Do you think you might want a planted tank? What kind of substrate do you lean towards? (i like sand personally). I know its a lot of questions lol but its helpful to know in advance.

Sorry about that. Cable company came to upgrade internet. My tank is a 30 gallon long one. I got gravel (top-fin 30 lbs), 24" airstone, volcano with air stone, the air pump is supposed to be good for a 40 gallon tank. My filter is an aquaclear 50. A few plants (around 7 or so) and just started cycling it last night. Fish-less cycle (new to me) I haven't decided on fish yet but do want some advice on them for this tank. I have a heater (150w) on order with an API test kit (3 stores around here sold out of them) just picked up the ammonia kit until it comes in) and my gravel vac will be coming also.