Beginning Community

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kevin.getrhythm

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am new to keeping an aquarium and am trying to put together a plan for a nice beginner FW community tank. My plan was to pick a good starting group of fish and then plan the tank around that, and then set up and cycle etc...

This is my thought:
A couple Zebra Danios (Not sure how many, I haven't seen anyone give a number for a good amount.)

7-8 Tiger Barbs

4-5 Serpae Tetras

4-6 Banjo Catfish

How big a tank would this require, I am afraid I may only have room for a 29ish gallon, would that be enough? Be more than willing to drop one set of either the Danios, Barbs, or Tetras to make it work better.

Would the Tiger Barbs fit well into this mix, I have read they can be fin nippers, but that they were better in a school and when they are fed properly.

Personally I would ditch the tiger barbs. I have had bad luck with them killing or stressing all my other fish. To me the rest sounds ok for a 29 gallon tank.

That would definately work for a 29 gallon, minus the tigers. You are right they can be nippy...As thominil said, try some cories. They are extremely fun to have when you have a bunch. Make sure you get around 6-8.

I agree with all of the above no to the tigers but a big yes to the cories I love watching those little guys scour the substrate.

I agree on the 29 gal choice...but you could also do a 20 if you went with less tiger barbs, which I recommend. Whenever I set up a tank I first choose what will be my centerpiece fish....the one I would like most to have in the tank and then pick the best tank mates around that choice. Despite the label community fish, there are some fish that simply annoy pick on or simple are not good matches for other community fish due to a number of factors.