betta friend?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rubinthebetta

Aquarium Advice Newbie
hi i have a 10g tank and this is my first time with an actual tank not a little box and i have a red male veil tail beta fish and my dad is bringing me to get some other community fish to keep in there with him. i need to know what kind to get so that i dont become the reason my beta killed an innocent fish :( please help becouse were going in 3 days!

IMO I wouldn't put Neons in a 10 gal; they are small but active and require more swimming room plus they may be too active for a betta. Honestly fish with bettas are hit and miss; it's going to largely depend on the personality of your betta. Anything you put in there could potentially become an expensive snack. Do you know the temperament of your betta? Have you tried anything in with it yet? You definitely don't want anything that has flowing fins like guppies.

You could start with a snail and see how the betta reacts to it. If it attacks it then it's a good bet that fish won't work. If not, then you can try some appropriate fish and see what happens but have a backup plan. Some fish that would work in a 10 gal are nano fish like ember tetra, chili rasbora or celestial pearl danio (a school of 6 is preferred) , some shrimp might work too but again it'll depend on the betta.

+1
I wouldn't recommend neons. Schooling fish in general with bettas are always going to be a risk. I would say cories are safe. It again not in a ten gallon. Unless it is micro fish isouldnt recommend a school in a ten gallon any way. It's doable but it's better to have a healthily oversized school so that they are healthier happier and look better. Try snails or shrimp with your betta instead. Amano shrimp are supposed to be good. Just introduce them at the bottom not from the surface.

bettaowner said: