Need help with Setting up a planted aquarium!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

smellslikefish

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello everyone,

I'm new to planted freshwater aquariums and need some advice with filtration. Recently bought a 110g Corner Bow front for my first planted aquarium. I've been doing some research here and there and would like to know if any members can send some pics of their filtration or advice on the best way to set this up. Just bought a CO2 5lbs cylinder with a regulator. Will be getting Solenoid, needle valve, Milwaukee PH monitor, tubing.. I've gotten a lot of different advice with getting a reactor and diffuser. Is this really needed? I've also been told you can just stick the tube end into the intake of the eheim filter so that the CO2 bubble can be dissolved evenly... The members of this forum seem to have really good information. Can someone please help?

I don't use CO2 but have cannister filters for my planted tanks. I have one tank with an XP3 and 2 HOB's and one tank with a Fluval 404 and a HOB. They are both heavily planted medium light tanks. If you want specific information with CO2 setups I am of no help to you unfortunately.

For the filtration in general. I diffuse the flow across the top of the tank with the HOB's and downward towards the back of the tanks with the cannisters to minimize the plants being pushed around.