Help setting up dirted tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

NStalgia

Aquarium Advice Activist
So I'm planning on setting up a semi Walstad method tank. Can I use 2 inch sand or more on top of the soil? I'm still planning on using a sponge filter, I'm just learning about the Walstad method and incorporating it to my tank to help me with filtration and plants and stuff. I'm adding a thick layer of sand in the back section cause I have a scape in mind that I'm planning to do. It's a 5 gallon cube and I'm only planning to use it for shrimp. Also is there any common mistakes I need to avoid?

Yes 2 inch sand is fine although the raised sand at the back will try to level out across the tank over time so you will need some kind barrier to stop the sand falling forwards.

The soil will release a lot of ammonia and drain oxygen for a few weeks so you will need to monitor ammonia and avoid putting the shrimp in until
That is stable. You can mineralise the soil before hand to avoid ammonia issues but it’s a lot of effort, time consuming and this time of year is not the best time to do it.

Other than that have fun with it. The sponge filter is a good call as it will at least help with gas exchange. As the organic matter in the soil is broken down by microbes they will use a lot of oxygen. The water will also probably go tea coloured as the soil will leech tannins in to the water. Just keep up with water changes. I’m about to do a dirtied shrimp bowl myself.

You will probably get a lot of bubbles coming up from the substrate too but these are nothing to worry about.