Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-07-2003, 08:37 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: MA
Posts: 21
Nitrogen cycle

I'm in 2 weeks of cycle fully loaded of fishes .. hehehe... including delicated one like angles, neon tetras. ...but so far I haven't lost any one yet.
I have many plants in my tank.
__________________

__________________
Beginer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2003, 08:44 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
What is your ammonia and nitrie readings. I am sure the plants are helping you out.
__________________

__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2003, 09:42 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: MA
Posts: 21
Hi,
I'm using AP test kit, just brought... The ammonia reading was 7+ ppm but zero for nitrite....fishes breath normally. Feeding one a day.
I added a few ml of product called "Cycle" everyday.
I change 20% water every 3 days but the ammonia reading still too high.
I'm afraid I'm losing some fishes.
__________________
Beginer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2003, 07:54 AM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
With an ammonia reading that high, I'm amazed they aren't all dead. You may have to take more drastic measures than 20% water changes to keep the rest of the fish alive. I'd say 50% changes will be needed to dilute the ammonia enough to make a difference. I'm sure someone will pop up and say that will lengthen the cycle so I will go ahead and state that the fishes lives are more important...JMHO. I think you made a mistake by starting with angels and neons, but you may still be able to save them and cycle the tank. If you can get them past the nitrite spike, they'll probably be OK. Keep us posted. Can you send some tank pics? What size tank is it and how many fish do you have?
Logan J
__________________
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2003, 11:12 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: MA
Posts: 21
Hi loganj,

I think the test kit (Aquarium Pharmaceutical) reading both Nh3(ammonia) and Nh4(ammonium, less toxic). It's amazing that the fishes breath normaly.
Can't post picture because I don't have scaner.
30 g and up to 30 inches of fishes excluding tails.
__________________
Beginer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2003, 11:41 AM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Quote:
30 g and up to 30 inches of fishes excluding tails.
Problem is there is no room for growth. As fish grow they will produce more waste. Thus having more impact on the biofilter. Usually when fish capacity is calculated the 'adult' size of the fish is used.

With an ammonia level that high I would indeed perform a 50% water change. Discontinue all feedings for a period of 3 or more days. Possibly even do another 50% water change after a few days.

When doing water changes try to get the water as close to tank temperature as possible and dont forget to add your declorinator.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2003, 04:02 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
[quote="fishfreek"]
Quote:
Problem is there is no room for growth. As fish grow they will produce more waste. Thus having more impact on the biofilter. Usually when fish capacity is calculated the 'adult' size of the fish is used.
Absolutely. I agree. What is your pH level? You will either have ammonia or ammonium depending on your pH. I would think, if it's a new kit, that the ammonia test results would be valid. Have you added anything to bind the ammonia such as Ammo Lock? If so, the results from a test that uses nessler reagents will not be accurate. I would, if the LFS will go along with you, return about 1/2 of the fish...at least until the tank cycles. Then I would evaluate the bio load and go from there. JMHO.
Logan J
__________________
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2003, 04:52 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: GA
Posts: 21
What size tank is it??? And what kind of fishes???
I am still cycling also...with fish....but ammo still high. Fixing to do a PWC about 40%.

Write me maybe we can help each other. I shoulda got a 20 gal. I plan on it when I get the extra cash.

nurse lady :P
__________________
LPN2639 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2003, 06:34 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: MA
Posts: 21
Hi,
I used Ammo-lock when changed water.
Now I run out of Ammo-lock, use Muti-purpose water conditioner from Big Al's store.
pH = 7.6
__________________
Beginer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2003, 07:49 PM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Quote:
I used Ammo-lock when changed water.
bingo. thats why your ammonia readings are so high and your fish are showing no signs. ammolock does not remove ammonia from the tank it simply converts it from the toxic to the non-toxic form. On most inexpensive test kits that test for both as logan said. The only way to be able to get a true test now would be to discontinue ammo-lock and perform a series of waterchanges to diloute it out of the solution.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2003, 08:09 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: MA
Posts: 21
I think Ammo-lock converts NH3 to NH4, if still some left behind...taken up by plants ...whenever I see them breath heavily I do 50% water change right away.
__________________
Beginer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2003, 09:10 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: MA
Posts: 21
I've just lost a catfish....hehehe..saw green-dark under his belly..not sure due to Nh3 thing or not enough O2 (I'm using Hagen CO2) because this fish is not active and stay around at the bottom. Other fishes (neons, angles, mollies, barbs, guppies, a SAE and a betta) look fine.
__________________
Beginer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2003, 03:57 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: SD
Posts: 6
not to be mean to you but did you buy your fish at Wal Mart?... No responsible dealer would have sold you so many delicate fish to start your aquarium with .. it makes me sad to think about it .. i started a bigger tank and started it with barbs then added my other more sensitive fish and a lot of gravel and water from the old aquarium and i have about an inch of fish per 3.5 gal of water and i am still neurotic about how they are doing and checking them all day long and all night too.Remember they are life forms and you are killing them .. i feel so sorry for the poor fishes and mad at the irresponsible dealer that sold them to you .. my dealer wouldn't even think of selling me a little tinny angel to keep in my old tank till this one is all ready.
__________________

__________________
Marnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, nitrogen cycle

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about the nitrogen cycle Xzap Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 18 08-29-2005 01:48 PM
Nitrogen Cycle help? MalawiMadness Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 7 02-03-2005 06:54 PM
Nitrogen Cycle help? MalawiMadness Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 02-03-2005 03:51 PM
Nitrogen Cycle? Beacious Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 9 03-06-2004 07:16 AM
Nitrogen Cycle Advice mr_tee0419 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 02-14-2004 07:35 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.