oto injury

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

frog girl

Aquarium Advice Freak
I have been doing a fair bit of transplanting in my 60 gallon with a clay bottom. I have never had trouble before but it seems this time one of my female otos bumped her nose hard on something. It is white instead of the usual dark grey brown in a small patch on the tip of her rostrum. There is no hanging skin & she is still eating fine but I am still doing renovations & I do want her to heal. All my other fish are bright colored & eating normally including my other otos.

Should I take her out & put her in clean water?? A little bit of methyl blue in the water?? An airstone & some zuchinni??

I have treated other animals for diseases/injuries but never fish so I'm a newbie at this.

Thanks

P.S. I have had her for over a year & no new fish have been introduced recently (a few new plants though).

I'd remove her and use some Melafix for 4-5 days, if you can. These are relatively sensitive fish and I'd rather be safe than sorry, especially if you have a hospital type tank for the fish. Skip the salt - they do not do well with it - but catching it early might mean Melafix is all that is necessary.

oops guess I left out some important info

some new rocks, new driftwood, and new substrate (taking gravel out putting sand in) I am doing it gradually.

pH = 7.0 ammonia = undetectable nitrites = undetectable nitrates = unknown
KH = 10 degrees

Right now I have 4 harlequin rasboras. Only 2 tiger barbs (had six but quite a few from one batch got odd mouth deformities - seemed to be congenital); I will be getting rid of them soon but I am quite sure they are not picking on the otos. 6 otos, 1 mosquito fish.

75 gallon tank - only filled to 60 gallons 6 sided so deep