Poor Skinny Betta

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BettaBaby

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Okay, this is my first time posting on here. It seems to run the same as most forums that I've been too, but if I am doing something incorrectly...feel free to put me in my place! :lol:

So, here's the problem...I'm pretty sure that my little yellow betta got ich! :? His eye swelled up to the side of a grape and he stopped eating. Well...I don't know how it happened but his eye got better and he seems to be well proportioned. He still wouldn't eat and I thought it would be okay and that we would try in a little while to see if things change. He eats now, but we think he's a little blind. I know he can see me, and see the food but it seems that he is too weak to take the worm. He also tends to miss a lot. He'll get right up next to it and when he goes to grab it it goes right over his head and he misses it.

Most of the time he spends at the bottom of the bowl and only comes up to breathe.

He is also very skinny and I am wondering if I should just put him down or if you all have any idea what I can do to make him better. He lives in a 10gal bowl with rocks at the bottom...so...what do you think?

1~What type of fish is afflicted? In addition, please describe what is wrong with the fish to the beset of your ability (i.e. cotton like growth, bloated, etc.).

Betta. skinny, pale, and won't eat consistently!

2~What are your tank parameters (ammonia, nitrites, nitrates, temp, pH)? Please give exact values.

Honestly. All I could tell you is that it's ten gals. He is a little under room temp which is 70degrees. We use tap water with a betta water treatment. 12 drops. :oops: That's all I can tell you.

3~ How large is the tank? How long has the tank been set up?

5inch tall and 4inch wide and it's been around since the middle of November.