Recommend some equipment for me

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

msaeger

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello newbie here,

I would like to get freshwater aquarium because my son would really enjoy it I will be doing all the maintenance myself not trying to make this into a lesson in responsibility to something silly.

I am thinking an acrylic tank in the 10 to 20 gallon range and I don't have any species of fish in mind I say freshwater because that sounds like the easiest to take care of. I would like live plants if that is feasible for a newbie I like more natural looking.

Some recommendations on equipment, fish, and plants would be great.

Links to helpful information would be welcome too.

I'd avoid acrylic, no fun having a scratched tank. I really like the Aqueon bow front 16 gallon kit. The filter is dead simple to use. You'll read a lot about fancy lights and CO2 for planted tanks on here, but you can grow several without, and I'd try those.

You'll get lots of recommendations for stocking, and I'd suggest you consider some Amano or Red Cherry shrimp, they're fun to watch, and don't add much bio load.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice