Setting up 150 drilled tank, suggestions?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bowwow-1

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am new to a larger tank, but wife gave permission to go ahead with new tank. Have a 60 gallon FW with Fluval 404, that stays greenish. Probally am going to remove the 60 gallon and replace it with the 150 gallon. I understand of the added weight so I have to add some support to the flooring, luckily I have about 3-4 foot crawl space under the room. I have mainly questions about filter system. I have a 55 gallon tank that is currently not being used and was considering using this as a sump or wet dry filter. Could someone possibly give me some ideas or suggestions on how to build this sump or wet dry, using bio material and how much, what kind or size return pump(s) to use, and calculating head pressure. The stand for the 150 is roughly 40 inches in height, tank is roughly 28 inches in height. The 55 gallon tank would most likely sit in the bottom of the 150 wood stand. The overlfows on the tank are I believe 1 inch out and 3/4 inch in, but will have to make sure on that. There are a total of two overflows, one in each corner. I have the possible interest in the future to switch over to salt fish only tank, so any suggestions possibly keeping this in mind. Thanks for helping, would rather take advice from someone who has already been there and done that as they say.

You want at least 5-10x turnover rate so you will need a pump rated at least 900-1500gph but need to calculate head loss, Get a ball valve to adjust flow, the Overflows will have to be rated as high, for instance if your overflows or rated at 1200gph thats max pump

Saltwater you can get 175lbs of Live Rock or better yet to save money get 100 lbs of live and 75 lbs of dead rock(base), in time the rock all will come live.