So many beautiful fish, which ones?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Obsession

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm getting a new tank this weekend. It's a 180 gal. tank, made from plywood (8' long, 2' wide, 18" tall).
I'm going to use eco-complete as my substrate.
I'm planning on making the tank a South American theme, or an South Asia theme.
Live plants are a must, and so are tetras. So I was wondering which fish are best, upper, middle, and lower level. Also what plants to use to make the fish feel at home.

Also I've been keeping fish for about 6 years, so they don't have to be beginner fish.

Definitely get some dwarf cichlids for the bottom level (rams or apistos or both) ;). Cories of any type and a couple plecos would be great too. You have room for a few types of tetras if you wanted (for a South American theme)...some I like are Rummynose, Lemons, Flame (von rios), Black neons, and Pristellas. I know Rummynoses stay towards the bottom-middle area and Flames stay near the top-middle...but not sure about the others.

Are you planning any larger fish, like angelfish? You could have 4-6 in that size tank....and with the tetras I mentioned. The only tetras to watch out for are regular neons...they are angels' prey in the wild.

For plants...check out http://www.tropica.com and go to advanced search. Then choose South America under "continent" and you'll get alot of results. Plant choice really depends on your lighting. The only thing is that the plants are listed by scientific name and not common...but a quick google search will tell you the common names I'm sure. :)

That sounds like it will be an awesome tank!