What size tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

getpitted4

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I just joined this forum and I am a newbie. I have done hours or research on freshwater aquariums along with aquascaping. I am starting from the bottom and am asking what size tank I should start with? I read that a bit bigger is actually a good thing. A near by store is selling a 20g starter kit for $75 is that good considering it's including light heater filter and the tank? I plan on using real plants an having a small variety of fish.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

First of all, welcome! This forum is an amazing place! You learn so much here from everyone!

I was actually just reading an article saying that the best beginner sized tank is 20 and that deal for the fish tank sounds pretty good depending on the quality of the heater, light, etc.

First of all, welcome! This forum is an amazing place! You learn so much here from everyone!

I was actually just reading an article saying that the best beginner sized tank is 20 and that deal for the fish tank sounds pretty good depending on the quality of the heater, light, etc.

Thanks for the help and I'm not 100% on the name which I should know. I spoke to a person there and they said they started with the same kit and did very well. I would like to upgrade my light to a finnex as soon as possible too. I also have no problem making other upgrades as I go; like the heater , filter etc.

In general, the bigger the better. Go for a tank size you like because most of us end up upgrading soon anyways. :)

I would suggest a 40 breeder or 75g if funds allow.