damsel in distress?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Wisteriamyst

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi, we have two domino damsel fish and a scooter blenny in a 55-gallon tank. For the last couple of days one of the dominos has been a reddish brown in color, instead of black, but turns black when frightened. They're eyes also look like they have clear "capsules" over them. Does anyone know if this is a problem, or normal behavior?

I've tested the water and everything is good, pH 8.4, specific gravity 1.023, nitrates 20, nitrites 0, ammonia 0, temp 77 degrees.

I'd appreciate any input, as I'm pretty new to this and don't know if this is something to worry about, or not. :roll:

The color of the fish is not always a sign of poor health but can be an indication of stress or aggression. Color fading can also be a reaction to lowering of light. I don't understand what you mean by clear capsule either. Bacterial problems or parasites will result in a dull haze or clouding of the eye.

Please check out the sticky at the top of the forum "Before posting about sick fish, please read!!" and answer as many of those questions as possible. Somewhere down the line there may be a clue to a problem that may or may not be there.

What time of day was the pH tested?

Cheers
Steve

Steve,

We've had the fish for about five weeks, bought at the same time and put directly into the tank, only other tank mate is a scooter blenny that we have had for about five months. They eat frozen brine shrimp and have been eating well. We use Aquarium Pharmaceuticals liquid test kit and the parameters, including pH were taken yesterday at about three p.m. It is a 55-gallon tank, no live coral or sand, wet/dry trickle filter and protein skimmer.