Cobra endler guppys, one dark, two pale, one going crazy.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

amartin655

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Alright guys I’m a noob so don’t judge.

About three weeks ago I got a ten gallon tank, and all my equipment, and java moss.

I set it up, used some of that safe start bacteria starter stuff tetra sells, ive been doing my water changes every week.

10 days ago. About two weeks after I had set up my aquarium with the moss I got 3 cobra guppy’s, a tiny algae eater and a java fern. Just by coincidence, my new lights arrived the same day, I wasn’t happy with my java moss progress. It wasn’t growing at all.

Well, my new lights were awesome, the java moss exploded, but so did the algae. Really bad.

A good bit of water had already evaporated so after I vacuumed the gravel and racked it a little bit and cleaned the glass, I added about 4 gallons back to the tank. Right after this, same day, one of the guppy’s started staying at the bottom of the tank in little nooks and crannies like he was trying to hide.
And he also turned literally black around the head and his green color got very very very dark green. My girlfriend swears she could see white spots on him, and I think I may have seen one or two around his gill area but maybe not, they are definitely not there now.

They looked bigger than the white spots you get with ich. About ten minutes ago, he started swimming frantically into the corners of the tank. It literally looked like he was having a seizure, for a good 5 10 minutes straight. And then he went and wedged himself into a crack in the filter pump and hasn’t moved since... I immediately thought ich but now I’m thinking I could have caused some kind of fungus infection with my algae explosion?