sick fish -- unable to keep upright.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

coolchinchilla

Aquarium Advice FINatic
:n00b:
I'm a newbie here. I posted this in the Getting Started but it really belongs here, so I moved it.

Ok... I have a very sick fish and I hope someone can help me with him. I got the tank dirt cheap a month ago and inherited the fish with it. I know it is probably overstocked 8O and I'll work on that soon. I'm hoping to focus here on my sick guy.

Tank:
*30gal tall
*10 cichlids (lake malawi Mbuna) adult size ~4" & one pleco
*UGF w/powerhead + HOB power filter
*water parameters Ammonia =0, Nitrite = 0, Nitrates=20, pH=8.4+, alkalinity=~75
*tank has been running for one month - cycled in that time.

Fish symptoms:
*blue cichlid (don't know species, sorry) :roll:
*yesterday very pale & listing to the side and aft down. He couldn't even run and hide from my net like the other fish did. Poor guy. I feel so bad for him. :bawl:
*Moved him to a hospital bucket (no tank) w/ aquarium water, air driven sponge filter, heater, thermometer & rocks to hide under.
*Put in melafix & aquarium salt, stress coat & some fresh water.
*Today he is totally upside-down - belly up. He can crudely move by using his side fins. He keeps himself about 2-3 inches below the surface. He can't get himself to the rocks to hide under. :(
*Put in some frozen brine shrimp and I'm almost sure he tried to eat some.

Any suggestions? Any links about sick fish?

Thanks in advance :smilecolros:
coolchinchilla

awhile ago when i first started this same thing happened to 2 of my gouramis. one started to float, then went totally upside down. 20 mins later it died. 2 hours later the 2nd died..

i think theres like 3 possibilities popeye swim bladder disease and ammonia. ammonias at 0, probally the eyes arent popping out.. so it might be swim bladder.