First time aquascaping

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

plantgirl02

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey guys,
I'm new to the site. I've been keeping fish for years but finally decided to do a heavily planted tank, something I've wanted for a long time. I have a 29 gallon, 65 watt Sunpaq 6700 light, Fluorite substrate. I am dosing with ferts from instructions given to me by a highly reputable store nearby. I'll probably add fish in a week or so...

Anyway, it is all planted now and I feel like I did random acts of planting.. I don't know what looks good.. I don't think it looks right. Any suggestions? It is cloudy because I stirred up the Fluorite. Remember it's my first time aquascaping :)

And a question, I found 2 snails scavenging around. Did some research and they look like Malaysian Trumpet Snails. How do you feel about snails? I think it's cool that they eat algae but don't want a billion of them.

Thanks in advance for any input.

img_951486_0_8bfd727890675545755ec31541225747.jpg

I've become a believer in nerite snails, as a voracious eater of the slimy stuff and they dont reproduce(not in fresh water anyways :) )

Looks good so far

I think it is a good start. Much better than my first attempt.

Consider adding some more hardscape, like rocks, or a nice large piece of driftwood. Then you can attach plants or mosses to the hardscape using fishing line... eventually those plants will take off, and give you some great levels in your tank.

Is that anubia you have on the right that is flowering? I can't tell if the rhizome is planted or not, they do better tied to either a rock or drift wood. It should really look nice once it fills in.