TCC 36 Bowfront Dutch Build

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TheCommunityCichlid

Aquarium Advice Addict
Alright everyone I'm ready to dive into planted. I have extensive experience with fish but have always just admired the look of a well planted tank. So far the only living plants I have are Java moss, and some Dwarf Sag, so this will be a totally new adventure and will need some "hand holding" so I get it right the first time. That said I want a dutch style tank with different colors and plant types, I like alot of plants that require "High" light.

Tank Specs
36 Gallon Marineland Bow front Tank
Tank is 30" wide, 11" deep(at smallest) and 20.5" tall.
Fluval/Aquaclear 70 300GPH
Aqueon Pro Heater 200W
Sand Substrate
Basic Light

Alright so now on too the building part. I want to have all the equipment right before we start talking plants and such.

1. I'm obviously going to need to upgrade the light. I'm guessing high light capabilities? I would like LEDs but need to have a low budget so what would be the best way to go? Compact, T whatever number, is there affordable LEDs?

2. CO2, I'm also going to need CO2 how do I do this? I'm handy and can build one my self with some help if that's the best route. I have several paintball canisters laying around but I'm told they wont last to long and it would be better to get a 5lb canister. Help with this area would be appreciated.

3. Substrate. I have just regular sand. Its bigger grain than pool filter sand or play sand, but none the less sand. Does this work, should I get dirt and "cap" it with the sand? Mix some gravel in? I don't know...

4. Ferts. I'm going to need ferts I'm sure. Do I go with liquid or root tabs or both? I'm not sure what to do in this area. Where is the best place to get this kind of stuff.