Hi All - I am a Platy and Corys Fan

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jclv

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone. I'll try to sum up here.
I am already a hobbiest for only 2 years
I like so many fish, but the most I love are Platys and Corydoras. They are my favorite. Before I entered into this amazing world, i read a lot .... I must say I self study by myself for almost 4 months, while I was also cycling my first tank. I love technology, which means I am not a lazy guy for this hobby but if I can use technology to have all my fish very happy then I will. Plus I am a system engineer, so I can't help it.
In my fish tank i only keep Platys and Corys, since I love those fish a lot. My Platys already gave me more Platys this year and since I have been on this hobby I have still not gone through any bad experience, like dead fish or sickness. I am a freak with my water parameters, maintenance and whatever goes inside my tank, which it must go through quarantine or a full cleaning before it gets to my main tank.
As I said, i am a fan of technology, and one of the best products I could found on this hobby for me was the HYDRA filter. I know many and even the most experienced guys will not agree with that, but that is how, personally, have managed to get this far without deads or not get off my parameters for a great quality water. Also, maintenance is a must for me. And of course, i do have an external canister filter as my primary. HYDRA filter will always be my best secondary support, even for any inconveniences you could have.