Saskatchewan, Canada

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Arical

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello all!

After trolling these forums for awhile I thought I would register and introduce myself. My real name is Brett and I am a third year student at the University of Saskatchewan.

I started this hobby in January of this year. I decided to get into fish after I was exposed to the world of Scuba Diving. I instantly fell in love. In January when I got back from my trip, my roomate and I went to the LFS and picked up a 20gal. I asked the people at the store about starting out, not a word was ever mentioned about cycling. I was sent home with several fish.

When I first started I lost quite a few fish, and I couldn't understand why. Unfortunately the LFS people were of no help either. I decided I needed another source of information, something more reliable, people with experience. So I started searching around and somehow stumbled upon this site. Im glad I did! :)

Currently my tank is doing much better, it's home to:
  • 1x Red wag platy
  • 1x Micky Mouse platy (currently mother of around 20 fry)
  • 1x Peculiarly small platy (doesn't seem to grow)
  • 1x Neon Tetra (Had 3 Neons and 5 Cardinals, however they all died during the cycling. Didn't think he would make it, but he did. Contemplating getting more once I sell the fry)
  • 1x Albino Corydoras Catfish (Another LFS mistake, told me I only needed one)
I am highly interested in starting a planted tank soon, presently my tank contains only fake plants. Ive found quite a few useful links from these forums. You'll probably see me in there asking dumb questions when summer roles around ;)

I look forward to learning a lot from this community, everyone seems incredibly helpful.

Brett

Ps: Sorry about the length of the post!