10 gallon reef process

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jhawk__

Aquarium Advice Addict
I've had a 10 gallon fowlr set up for over a year and finally got myself to purchase a worthy light and make the jump to reef. I'm not very experienced with this yet though and need some help. Here's what I've got so far.

Tank: 10 gal
Lighting: Marineland led reef capable light
Filtration: Aqueon quiet flow power filter 10/20
Power head: not sure exact name but it's adjustable up to 160gph and it is a self rotating one(the head moves back and worth)

8-10 lbs live rock
10 lbs live sand

Stock:
X1 oc clown (been in for over a year)
X1 yellow tail damsel (been in for 2 weeks)
X1 coral banded shrimp
5-7 hermit crabs
3 snails

Coral:
X1 Duncan

I mostly just need help picking out corals and about caring for them and supplements. ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1415058260.770479.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1415058288.146739.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1415058319.992046.jpg

Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice

Is that a problem?

Is that a problem?

Depending on species, Damsels could reach 5"+, and really need to be in at least a 30g. Hopefully where you got it will take it back. Not trying to sound rude but a little more research before buying fish would help both you and the fish.

Sent from my iPhone that doesn't like me. Or you.

clowns are supposed to be in a minimum of 30 gallons and are also part of the damsel family. the yellow tail also needs a minimum of 30 gallons. This is due to many factors including size, territory, and bioload. Honestly neither fish are suitable for a 10 gallon.

I have heard of coral banded shrimp going bad, but who knows bout that. You should check live aquaria nano fish for fish that would work in a 10 gallon.

I also beleive that light will need upgrading to support corals