5 Gal Stocking Suggestions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

StrangePanthers

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Background: I am a college student in Wisconsin with a gravel-planted, 5.2-gallon Imaginarium cube. I also have a few pieces of driftwood in the tank as well.

Question: What should I put into my 5.2 gal tank?

I've heavily considered keeping a betta since I have the food and supplies for it. However, I've also considered keeping shrimp, or shrimp, and a betta (female). The reason for wanting to keep shrimp stems from my slight algae problem. From the looks of it, it's just brown algae, and that's fine except I don't like how it looks and I would hate to have it get out of control.

There are a few issues with keeping shrimp:
- They'll breed (and I won't know what to do with the overload)
- My Imagitarium filter is built-in and I'd have to modify it somehow so that the shrimp don't get sucked up and ground to pieces.
- They require additional food, algae-based food, which might make the algae problem worse. (i.e. introducing green algae to the tank)
- They're cold water "fish", and bettas are tropical fish.
- The betta may eat the shrimp, leaving me out some money and back to square one- dealing with algae.

Note: I would appreciate any other fish suggestions that would partner well with a female betta. Also, other algae eaters and/ or recommended food for them. Thank You.

You might want to try a snail to help with algae... there's no guarantee that your Betta will get along with it or any other fish for that matter.

In a 5 gallon aquarium I would not add additional fishes with a betta even a female. Most of the smaller fishes (like ember) are going to want cooler water and a group of 5 or 6.

Also many new tanks develop diatom (brown algae); it will go away in a few weeks on its own once the aquarium stabalizes.