Advice for a filter on a budget...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

anna0219

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello all,

I have been asking lots of questions about a new 5.5g tank, but I think I have decided on picking out three lovely female bettas for it.

So far I have a heater and the decor and such all set up, but I still need a filter. Some have recommended the AquaClear filter to me, but the problem is I am a poor college student and I have to be mindful of my budget. While they are obviously really nice filters, they are also more expensive and I want to do the best I can within financial limits.

I was looking into other filters, and I have been reading about the Tetra Whisper filter, which is less expensive (and looks like it might be less bulky in my not-so-very-big tank) but I'm worried that it would create too strong of a current for my bettas.

Anybody have any advice? I know it may not be the BEST, but would it be good enough? I don't want to buy it only to find my bettas are blowing away and waste money having to buy two. But even if you think the AquaClear is better, do you think that the Tetra would work?

I will check more into the price differences but I'm trying not to go TOO crazy.

Thanks!

Oh, I don't have an exact price point, but I was just wondering if there was anything in the slightly cheaper range, you know?

I just thought that the AquaClear ones were a bit significantly more expensive, but I will check them out and see what I can find.

I might try putting something in front of it if it seems too strong with the Whisper filter if I end up with that. Thanks for your suggestions, dkpate! You've been really helpful for me. :)

Check out those links I posted. :)

You can get plastic mesh at Walmart for $3 for 6 sheets. And then you can just tie it on with fishing line.