Advice Needed! 30 Gallon Community

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ICoolGuy

Aquarium Advice Regular
So how is this for my 30 Gallon Long. Please help me and tell me about incompatibility or any other problems or what should I add or deduct.

P.S I am new to the hobby and this will be my first tank.

AquStockImage.php

I'm not sure about the temp compatibility of neons and danios with the rest of the fish because their ideal temp is low 70's and I believe the other fish are high 70's. Not saying it won't work, just check on the temp requirements before you do it. And remember that you don't want fish to be on the very low or very high end of their acceptance temperature range. This can cause stress and early death.
For schooling fish, you want a group of at least 6. Cories are shoaling fish, and they also need groups of 6 or more. This is to prevent stress and encourage fish to show off their natural behavior instead of hiding. I wouldn't do all three schools. Take out Harlequin rasboras, neon tetras, or zebra danio.
Make sure all of the guppies are male or you'll get overrun with fry pretty quick. A lot of them would get eaten, but some will still survive. Best to not risk it.

So maybe:
8-10x schooling fish
8-10x schooling fish
6-8x Cory (check temp requirements- sterbai, bronze, albino are warm water)
3-5x male guppy
10x shrimp
1x dwarf gourami
2x nerite snail or 1x mystery snail

This will be fully or slightly overstocked, so 40-50% water changes a week. You can keep an eye on your ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate and that will give you a good indication of whether you're changing enough.

Also, aqadvisor is a fun little tool but doesn't always account for temperature compatibility, bioload (amount of waste a fish produces), or the amount of swimming room different fish need.

Sent from my HTC One M9 using Tapatalk