Any experience with acrylic tanks

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

pecan2phat

Aquarium Advice Freak
Just wanted to see what some of the experts thought. I was looking at a used 65g acrylic tank that is 4' in length.
Upon a careful inspection, I noticed that near the upper 1/3rd of the tank on both the front and back panels, the acrylic was slightly bowed.
Since I have no experience with acrylic tanks, is this okay structurally?
The tank was up and running and the seams all looked good.
As with all acrylic tanks, they have openings on the top rather than braces like a glass aquarium that is longer than 36". So the top pieces were fine, no separation or cracks.
The seller attributes the bowing to his initial attempt to use MH lighting under a canopy with no fan ventilation. Afterwards, he installed fans and raised the canopy off the top of the tank.
Would this be a plausible explanation?
Should I consider the purchase or walk away? Thanks in advance for your opinion.

Oh my,

This is a tough one. I have a 40g acrylic that bows slightly on the front (36" long). A good LFS in my area uses nothing but acrylic. They stand on thiers to catch fish on the high up tanks. I flipped out the first time I seen them do it. I will say that my bow gradually starts at the top and bottum and crest in the center. How bad is the bow on the top 1/3 of the tank? Drastic?

MH under an enclosed canopy. What was he thinking :roll: It seams like with that much heat, the seams for the top of the tank could have been stressed. Is the tank full of water at the moment?

Thats a tough one. I know acrylic is amazingly strong, but I cant side for or against. Personally I would want to see it holding water for a while before I layed down any money. Good luck

Thanks for your advice & opinions.