API leaf zone

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Tleyton

Aquarium Advice Activist
Today was the first time I added a liquid fertilizer to my tank, I have only been using root tabs until now. Upon adding it, it turned my water yellow. I realize that the fert itself is yellow but I didn't think it would turn my whole tank yellow. Will the color eventually just filter out? Also, do I re dose the whole amount or just what I take out during water changes?

It said 5 ml per 10 gallons, I have a 55 gallon so I added 25 ml just because the yellow freaked me out so I stopped at 25 instead of doing 27.5. It's a yellow tint still.

The yellow is the iron. I've never used it before but that sure seems like a lot. Have you considered using dry ferts? The are so much cheap especially if you have a bigger tank.

Yea I agree. It did seen like a lot to me as well. Dry ferts like what? I use root tabs for my root feeders but I'm not sure what dry ferts are.

That iron staining wouldn't affect my water chemistry at all do you think?

This is all you need... Estimative Index | Aquarium Fertilizer | Green Leaf Aquariums. These will last over a year.

I use 3 dosing bottles which you can find at the bottom of the page... Aquarium Plant Fertilizer | Green Leaf Aquariums.

Here is an article about dosing with a recipe of how to mix the ferts and use them. The only thing I do different is I mix my nitrates in one bottle, phosphates and potassium in one bottle, and micros in the 3rd bottle. Plus unless you have very soft tap water you don't need MgSO4 magnesium sulfate that the recipe calls for. Also only read the opening post not all the comments afterwards... Newbie Guide to PPS-Pro - PPS Analysis and Feedback - Aquatic Plant Central.

What plants do you have? What is your lighting and bulbs? Are you using any liquid carbon or CO2?