Approve/critique my 29 gallon stocking list?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

callibear

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello! I am pretty new to fish keeping. When I was a kid I attempted it, but not being knowledgeable my fish died and frustration led to giving up.

I have recently decided to try my hand at it again and, after having done much research, have settled on a 29 gallon tank. I am currently doing a fishless cycle with pure ammonia (the ace hardware brand) and it looks as if I just have 2-3 weeks left. I hope :)

I currently have an aquaclear 70 filter with bioballs instead of carbon and a 200 watt heater. I don't mind adding another filter if I have to.

Anyways, I have put a lot of thought into how I would like to stock my aquarium. The list as of now is:

6 albino corydoras aeneus
6 cardinal tetra
6 marble hatchetfish
5 or so ghost shrimp
1 bolivian ram
1 koi swordtail

Originally, I had wanted corydoras habrosus but they have proved impossible to find. I can only find pygmaeus and hastatus. I have read, however, that these two species spend a good deal of time in the middle of the water and I would like to keep my aquarium as evenly stocked as possible.

Also, I prefer harlequin rasboras to the hatchetfish, but my tap water is 7.8ph. Although the piece of driftwood I have in my tank seems to bring it down to 7.6 or 7.4. I am not sure that the rasboras would fair well in such high ph. As it is, the ph is in the higher acceptable ranges of the other fish I have chosen.

I have chosen to keep only one ram so that my cories would not have to deal with aggression when the rams were spawning, if I were to keep a mated pair. Will the single ram be lonely?