Are my guppies pregnant? Newbie

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BeccaBear374

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello newbie here! I have 4 female guppies total and being new to guppies I was hoping someone with a trained eye can give me an idea if these 3 are pregnant? The 2 on the left have been with a male for 3.5 weeks at the time of this picture the one on the right I purchased this past Monday from an "all female tank" but there were a lot of fry in there. Any help is appreciated. Also, the one on the right every morning when I turn the light on her gravid spot is gone and come back very black within half an hour, is this normal? Thanks!!

Attachments

• Screenshot_20220420-200408_Gallery.jpg
    Screenshot_20220420-200408_Gallery.jpg
    138.1 KB · Views: 32
If they have been in a tank with males they are pregnant lol guppies breed like crazy lol

So, so true!!! The female guppies were likely together in the breeding facility and separated before bagging for sale, but they were together with male babies before that and why / how they can be pregnant.

Even one male fish mistakenly gets into the females group, babies!!!

Even tiny females just bigger than babies will be 1/3 inch and preggo. It was how I could tell which fish were males, and they all basically looked like babies, except some were gravid and I would separate them that way.

Maybe the one gave birth. Babies are tiny, often especially from young / brand new moms, though sometimes the new moms will give birth to few but larger fry.

I would purchase some baby fish food.

But yes if you have a female guppy, 99% or more it is going to have babies in around a month, gestation is appx. 28 days.

The momma will get shiny and the front of the body will look squared, and then more squared and maybe even more squared and birth will happen.