Assassin snails (anentome helena)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

emeraldking

Aquarium Advice Freak
Just like to post something for I've read a topic about these snails overhere. But the topic is over 197 days old and therefore I'm not able to give a response on that topic according to this forum. That's why I've made a new topic.

Experiences can differ a lot with these snails. Especially after I've read the former topic about these snails...

I've been breeding these assassin snails for many years now. Most of my anentome helenas lay their eggs in the gravel and in some tanks in soil (specifically, my swamp tanks). Overhere, they breed like hell...

And yes, overhere they also eat algae. And to answer the question wether they're brackish or not → They're actually freshwater species but they tend to do well in brackish water as well. I have a couple of brackish water tanks where I keep colonies of these snails as well. There's no difference in their behaviour or lifespan in brackish water.

Will they eat bigger snails? They can but hardly do it! Even shaped snails (so, not just their own species) will mostly (so, not always) be left alone by them.

Like I've already mentioned: experiences with these snails do differ!

Grtz, "S"

Attachments

• 2012_0920merchandise40014.jpg
    2012_0920merchandise40014.jpg
    252.6 KB · Views: 84
  • 2012_0920merchandise40011.jpg
    2012_0920merchandise40011.jpg
    257.3 KB · Views: 79