Back in the saddle again!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dwayne.aycock

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hello everyone, after almost a 10 year lay off I am back to aquariums again. I started my first 20 gallon aquarium in college back in 1984. I learned the ropes like most of us with blissful ignorance and finally a learned scholar by 2001. I am a MAJ in the U.S Army initially coming into the military in 1989. I took a 9 year break in military service from 1991 until 1999. In 1997 I completed my PhD in Clinical Psychology, and came bak onto active duty just after 9-11. With the training and frequent moves required in military service, I simply was not able to make the many moves with Army gear, household goods, a Wife, 3 dogs, 2 cats and and a Parakeet named Steve shortly followed by my now 2 year old daughter...something had to give. As you may have imagined it was my fish hobby.
Well I am on one of my final assignments (6 years before retirement) I have rekindled my hobby.
I found a 75 gallon tank with wet dry filter, stand and lights for $100.00 from a guy who was going the opposite direction. We told stories and shook hands and I was back in the saddle again. I had wood work to do on the stand and after 2 weeks of wood work, the stand looked like new. The tank had previously been a salt tank, so I had lots of work to do to get it up and converted over to fresh water.