BAD Cycle.... HELP!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jimbob

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi, I've been cycling my tank and I'm in my 5th week. Due to bad advice when setting my tank up I'm not doing a fishless cycle! I'm new to fish keeping, i've got the following; full test kit, a 230L tank, Undergravel Filtration + Small internal filter.

In the first 3 weeks i saw the ammonia level climb and drop (I was doing a 20% water change every two days) and i though that this was my cycle over. The only thing that i found odd was the nitrite level never change (it stayed a 0).

About 10 days ago the ammonia level started climbing again so i started my water changes and kept an eye on it (0.25-1.0mmg/l). It went very high yesterday 3.0mmg/l so i did a 60% water change and it's come down again.

Had a fish dead this morning.... went to my lfs and he told me to leave my test kit alone leave my tank to settle of 10day regardless of the ammonia levels.

bad advice?!? Why have i never seen the Nitrite levels raise (it's always on 0)? Should my cycle be finished or nearly finished???

Any help would be good

Thanks
James

With fish...... Bad Bad Bad advice , unless your intention is to kill the fish during the cycle (which I guess then could qualify as a fishless cycle with dead fish instead of a shrimp). You can not expect to have significant ammonia and nitrite levels and keep your fish alive. Cycling with fish means lots of testing and water changes.

You need a new fish store and if that person wasn't the owner you need to have a chat with the owner (if it's a non-chain establishment).

It went against everything i'd been told and read, i questioned him and his reply was... how can you exspect the cycle to take place when you keep changing the water!?!? Time to find a new lfs =D