Beginner advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

chickenkev

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all,

I'm new to this hobby, am cycling my first tank 120l (30gal); although I'm interested in Oscars / Discus in the future, and maybe a reef tank eventually, the idea for my first tank is a peaceful 'hardy' freshwater community, with a few live plants. I've done a bit of reading, and I wondered what you thought of this stocklist, comments on size for the tank, make-up, care level etc appreciated:

2 angelfish (ideally both male but ?difficult to sex, as usually only aggressive when paired?)
6 male guppy
1 male dwarf gourami
1 red-tailed shark (I understand usually only aggressive with other red-tails and bottom-feeders)
4 neon tetra
4 cardinal tetra
5 odessa barb

I'm most concerned about overpopulating, I think this seems like a lot, am I right? Help appreciated

Welcome to AA :) I think you would be ok if you take out the angels. You'd be stocked to the max, imo, but it would work. Not sure that I would suggest such a high bioload for a beginner though, as you'll have to be very diligent in water changes, and you'll need a good quality filter rated for at least 50-60g to adequately filter your tank. I think maybe you should go with more of the neons and cardinals though and skip out on the barbs, but thats just my opinion

+1

I have a 29g and 1 angel makes up 50% of my bioload. The dwarf gourami is a timid fish when kept alone and might become stressed with active schoolers. Not to mention they are really susceptible to diease.

I'd also get rid of the angels.