best tank size and best equipment

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Skorpius

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello, I am new to aquatics and new to this site. I am seeking advice on the best tank, equipment and everything I need to buy for a freshwater setup. I plan on beginning to buy the equipment in a couple weeks and begin the process, The following are my thoughts so far:
50-100 gallons fishless cycle for 1-3 months
Fluval canister filter (2x's the tank size)
Aqueon or Fluval adjustable temperature Heater
API Master test kit
Air Stone??
Seachem Prime for cycling
Journal to keep track during cycling the tank
Sand as substrate
Day/Night lights
Mercury thermometer, not sticky on outside of tank
Mopani or Malaysian or Manzanita driftwood.
Python changer
live plants, Anubias / Java fern / moss
If anyone can better guide me on any of this, let me know.
Now the next problem I have is stocking. I've found soooo many freshwater fish that I find very colorful and would like, I have to narrow the list and find which would be compatible together. The list of fish I find the most colorful so far are as follows:
Kilifish
Discus
Mollies
Boesemani rainbow
Lemon Ciclid
Pseudotropheus demasoni (Malawnian Ciclid) (Highly aggressive though)
spotted/candy pleco
bluefin notho
Electric Blue Hap
Ramirezi ciclid
Dwarf gourmi
Rainbow snakehead (channa bleheri)
Pearl gourami
zebra danios
German blue ram
So if anyone can tell me the best combination I can put together, I welcome any and all advice, thank you.

i believe you posted this in the Saltwater section, that should be a sign;)

(A sign to start a SW tank, read my post after and that it could be read wrong:) )

Thanks, I didn't even realize I did that until a couple of you told me. dragonfish71 was kind enough to move it for me to the correct location for me, thanks all.