Betta Questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Abigail

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello,
I've had Sir Fabian for about a week now. He is so happy in his little tank! He swims around and re-explores his tank all the time. I'm no expert, but he looks real healthy to me.

I had a few questions.
I really don't want to kill him, but I would like to replace the water. I'm nervous about doing this, and I'm wondering if there's anyway to gradually replace it, like take a cup out and pour fresh water of the same temperature in, and then add a bit of conditioner when that's finished.

Mind you, I am close to clueless. :ermm:

I just don't want to make him unhappy, because he looks so darn happy in his tank right now! :D

Also, the filter, it came with two disposable filter cartridges, one of which is in use right now. How often should I replace them?

Another question...my betta seems very occupied with a certain corner of the front of the tank. There are journals leaning against the tank, but that's all that is there. I saw him for the first time get all big and puffed up and aggressive (kind of like if he saw another betta or his reflection) and I don't know why. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance for any help! :fish2:

Hello,
I've had Sir Fabian for about a week now. He is so happy in his little tank! He swims around and re-explores his tank all the time. I'm no expert, but he looks real healthy to me.

I had a few questions.
I really don't want to kill him, but I would like to replace the water. I'm nervous about doing this, and I'm wondering if there's anyway to gradually replace it, like take a cup out and pour fresh water of the same temperature in, and then add a bit of conditioner when that's finished.

Mind you, I am close to clueless. :ermm:

I just don't want to make him unhappy, because he looks so darn happy in his tank right now! :D