Betta-Safe Hardscaping?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SwiftCoffeeOwl

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I’m new to aquascaping. I’m planning a 10-15 gallon betta tank that I would like to use rock or wood, and live plants in. But I’ve had problems in the past with adventurous bettas tearing their fins while exploring, even on flexible artificial plants. The pantyhose test is useful on individual pieces once I have them in hand, and I can sand sharp edges down to some extent, but I’m hoping to eliminate some potentially snaggy problems before I begin purchasing stuff.

1) What kind kind of rock would generally be fragile-fin safe? Obviously something like dragon stone wouldn’t do, but I want rock with enough texture to allow epiphytes to hang onto.

2) Is there a clear, aquarium-safe sealant or coating I could apply to rocks or wood to smooth out/guard against sharp surfaces that I can’t sand down?

3) I have also read about planted tanks coating craggier rocks with things like Java moss to cushion surfaces. Would that be viable?

Any answers, advice, or anecdotes would be appreciated!

One thing is to have a Betta which is in better condition too. Using Indian Almond leaves /IAL and other botanicals and DW will help with the condition of the Betta's body, because of the tannins. Betta's like tinted water and of course benefit from a better condtion / and wellness.

Also a Plakat Betta doesn't have the flowy fins of many other varieties and are fun and beautiful as well, more active as they aren't dragging a ball gown around. So maybe check them out.

Using a Betta Log (also check inside for any sharp protruding plastic edges jic) or floating stem plants will also help keep the fish from laying around on the bottom all the time, also can help avoid fin rot.