Black Diamond Quartz for Corydories

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dezcookies

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi guys. So I am new to Corydora's and I have a few myself. I have a tank atm with smooth gravel but planning to change to diamond black quartz as seen in the link below. does anyone know if it will be okay with the cory? i know they prefer sand. I just dont like the idea because i feel it would be extremely cloudy when i need to clean it with the gravel vacuum. any idea, solutions or tips would be greatly appreciated.

link to quartz
Pisces Natural Products

I am unfamiliar with this substations but here's another forum talking about it.
Quartz Gravel?
I would rec amend you using black diamond blasting sand 20/40 grit its a medium size sand and corys love it.

The easiest place to get it is at tractor supply, for around ten bucks for a 50 pound bag.

Hi dez,
I recently made a substrate change myself, and went with pool filter sand. It's uniform smooth, and surprisingly was quite heavy in the water and I have no trouble cleaning it with the vac or having it swirling all over, it's worth keeping in mind. And the cories love it!

I own some of the diamond black quartz gravel. Have not used it yet, just washed it in a bucket. Looks very nice and rich so far. And does not feel sharp.
Although as stated above, cories do like sand better.

Sent from my GT-I9305 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Hi dez, post a picture when you change it! The PFS is pretty bright. I have no experience with play sand so I can't really say what the difference is. Here's a pic of the tank with the pool filter sand
ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1414881721.621562.jpg
ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1414881751.999484.jpg