Complete newbie with a stupid question.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

subrhythm

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone - complete newbie here. I've inherited my brother's tank of fish - three goldfish and two zebra danios. He has them in a pretty small tank so I've bought a bigger one - 13g. I have a really stupid question about the new tank's filter. It has four compartments, one with bio balls, one with ceramic rings and two with carbon/sponge. The bio balls and ceramic rings are in mesh-type bags - do I need to take them out of the bags?

Also, the guy at the pet shop said I could put up to ten goldfish in the 13g tank. From what I've read online, this would be massively overstocking the tank. Any thoughts on this?

The old tank is pretty small, and I don't think it has been cleaned or looked after for a while, and its certainly never had the water tested. I read online that I should use some of the old water when I set up the new tank. Is this still advisable, given that the old tank was rarely cleaned or looked after? Should I just set up the new tank with new water and let it cycle?

Any advice is very much appreciated.

Laura

Welcome to the forum! I'm going to let someone else address the issue about stocking and how many goldfish can go in your tank. I do know that goldfish have a really large bioload so don't listen to the local fish shop (LFS) advice.

I can help with the other questions:

Leave the rings & bioballs in the mesh bags. That keeps them grouped together so they're easier to manage. You probably already know this, but when you clean the rings/bioballs, just rinse them in some treated/tank water. You want to rinse off the debris, but you don't want to kill the good bacteria by running the filter material under untreated water.