Do I need a carbon cartridge for my Fluval Nano?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ocncheffy

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi there,

My Fluval Nano filter did not come with a carbon cartridge insert but it turns out amazon does sell them separately. I'm fairly new to this hobby and my tank hasn't even finished a full cycle yet (1.5 weeks in) but I've heard it's good to have carbon in the filter but it could be bad for the live plants I have too. What are your recommendations?

http://www.amazon.ca/Carbon-Cartrid...8-1&keywords=fluval+nano+filter+carbonhttp://

Hi there,

My Fluval Nano filter did not come with a carbon cartridge insert but it turns out amazon does sell them separately. I'm fairly new to this hobby and my tank hasn't even finished a full cycle yet (1.5 weeks in) but I've heard it's good to have carbon in the filter but it could be bad for the live plants I have too. What are your recommendations?

http://www.amazon.ca/Carbon-Cartrid...8-1&keywords=fluval+nano+filter+carbonhttp://
You don't really need carbon except for removing meds or odours. It can become quite expensive to run carbon continuously. If you can get some in, I would add some filter floss. It will do as good, if not better job of polishing the water. It is harmless to the tank and also extremely cheap to buy....

+1 for filter floss and no carbon. Unless you have a nasty odour, too much colour leached from wood or leaves or some type of medication that must be removed from the water, carbon is just not needed.

Do I need to buy a special filter floss? Or any?

Do I need to buy a special filter floss? Or any?