Does Bumblebee fish Goby sting?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

pettygil

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Bumblebee Goby fish, do they sting, or is it their color which makes them
Bumblebee Goby? Do they school, and how big do they get? I do not want to over crowed my tank. :cool::thanks:(y):whistle:

Bumblebee goby are so called because of their colour, not because they sting.

Are you aware they are a brackish water fish, not freshwater?

Bumblebee goby are so called because of their colour, not because they sting.

Are you aware they are a brackish water fish, not freshwater?

No, I was not aware they were brackish water fish. I am not sure what that is. I am still learning about fresh water fish. :cool::whistle:(y)

Freshwater is what you have. There is no salt in freshwater. Freshwater fish live in rivers, streams and lakes.

Marine is saltwater. Marine fish live in the ocean. Clown fish, dorys, those fish you saw watching Finding Nemo. Corals are also kept in marine aquariums. To keep marine fish and coral you need to replicate their ocean water by adding marine salt.

Brackish water is somewhere in between Freshwater and marine. Its a little salty. Brackish water fish live in those in between areas between the rivers and the seas like tidal estuaries. To keep brackish water fish you need to be adding some salt to the water, but not as much as you would a marine aquarium.

Bumblebee gobys are cool fish to keep if you want to set up another aquariun as a brackish water tank, but they wont do well in the freshwater aquariums you already have.

https://www.practicalfishkeeping.co.uk/features/how-to-set-up-a-brackish-goby-aquarium/

Last edited:
Freshwater is what you have. There is no salt in freshwater. Freshwater fish live in rivers, streams and lakes.