Evaluate my stocking logic...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MACATUA

Aquarium Advice FINatic
OK, I am not a beginner in the saltwater field, I have posted here with you guys many times. Tell me what you think of my approach.

I have just set up a new 180, but with plenty of established live rock and sand, never even had a cycle and have tested fine for 3 weeks now. I also have set up a 100 gallon rubbermaid stock tank as my sump with about 70 gallons of water, more sand and rock.

So my thought is I of course want to go with some larger "show" type fish. But it struck me yesterday that if I did a quicker stocking with baby fish, I should not have bio-load problems up front because the babies don't produce much waste. Also, they can all grow up together which should solve some order of addition and aggression issues.

I have plenty of hiding places and can't wait to show you all, I will have pics soon.

So yesterday I picked up my first two fish, a beauty of a clown tang I had been watching for three weeks at the store eating, and jumped into my tank last night and grazed on the rock to his hearts desire. And a small dogface puffer, (the cutest darn thing you have ever seen!) Both are around 2 inches long.

I also want to add very soon in small batches a lion, trigger, angel, and harlequin tusk.

If I add thes all soon but as very small babies, does it stand to reason they should all grow into the tank together and have and easy transition?

triggers and lions usually conflict due to the trigger wanting to nip at the lions finnage. Tusks and triggers have also been known to tie up. Alot will depend on the type of trigger you decide upon.

Other then that, your plan looks pretty sound to me.