Fish to get?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Guggiboy123

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hey everyone I'm a newbie to fish. I'm going to be getting from anywhere from a 30 to 60 gallon tank. What are some good fish to get that arnt to hard to take care of?

Welcome to AA :) do you have any particular fish or type that you like. I'm guessing you wanna go fresh water first and not salt right? Id recommend a SW tank ;)

Mrc8858 said:
Welcome to AA :) do you have any particular fish or type that you like. I'm guessing you wanna go fresh water first and not salt right? Id recommend a SW tank ;)

Yes I'm going with fresh water.. I like cichlids but they look like a harder fish to maintain

Cichlids can be a great start but research is a must though because most can be very aggressive

Edit* also most cichlids will need a large tank so bigger the better

Mrc8858 said:
Cichlids can be a great start but research is a must though because most can be very aggressive

Edit* also most cichlids will need a large tank so bigger the better

Ok thank u do u know of any could sites with some info on them....also is there any other fish u would recomend

You can go to liveaquaria.com and they can provide good info on each fish...just browse around for awhile and find what you like then bring it here

Mrc8858 said:
You can go to liveaquaria.com and they can provide good info on each fish...just browse around for awhile and find what you like then bring it here

Ok thank u soo much:)

Mrc8858 said:

I think I would get some electric blue cichlids

Mrc8858 said:

Also Kenya and electric yellow cichlids

Yellow Labs are a great starter mbuna and are on the low end of the aggression scale but kenyi can be highly aggressive I wouldn't reccomend them to begin with. You could do a group of mbunas like yellow labs and electric blues