general stocking practices

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fins

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Experienced aquarists, when you're planning how to stock a tank, what do you take into consideration to determine if it's fully stocked?

Obviously fish have to be compatible tempermentally and with the water parameters. But how do you know how many fish are not enough, too much, or just right?

I'm familiar with aqadvisor but I don't completely trust it.

You can usually add a little more than aqadvisor tells you, I'm not an expert so I won't say any more

Experienced aquarists, when you're planning how to stock a tank, what do you take into consideration to determine if it's fully stocked?

Obviously fish have to be compatible tempermentally and with the water parameters. But how do you know how many fish are not enough, too much, or just right?

I'm not an expert either but one of things you have to consider is how big the fish are now, how big they will get, and whether your set-up can maintain that for the long term. If it can't, do you plan on upgrading. If you are stocked or over stocked, do you have enough filtration? How many water changes will you be doing weekly and at what percentage of water? The real question, I think, is will you be able to Maintain the enviro. I'll admit, we tend to go to full stock or slightly over at times in terms of what will happen as the fish grow, so we move forward with a plan. I think the consensus for most here would be to go lighter than what aqadvisor suggests, at least that's the impression I get.